Third Party Reviews

5
Michael T. | June 01, 2018 |

"Courtney is great! Always get my haircut from her. $20 haircuts. DePaul students also get free upgrade to MVP which includes free hair wash and hot towels"

5
Mike P. | May 30, 2007 |

"Having frequented the Niles SportsClips, I was excited to hear that a location had opened in the DePaul neighborhood, just west of Racine Avenue. I really enjoy the MVP treatment, which is a haircut, shampoo, hot towel treatment, and shoulder and neck massage. So last night on my way home from the office, I stopped in for a haircut. Am I glad I stopped in. Sandra, the nice lady who cut my hair really knew what she was doing. She took her time and made me look presentable again. It's not just a basic haircut at SportsClips. They take there time to make sure your cut looks good. They spend extra time on the neck line and side burns. They even trim your eye brows if they've gotten too bushy, as mine had. The shampoo is more like a head massage, using Paul Mitchell Tea Tree, which my wife loves. The steamed towel includes a short face massage. The shoulder and neck massage really works out the kinks that come from sitting in a chair all day. The wait was a little long, because of the grand opening marketing they had done over the weekend (free haircuts, etc.), but the receptionist was very professional about it and offered those of use waiting extra discounts. Once the shop is fully staffed, waiting will not be as much of an issue. However if you know the area, you should account for the heavy foot traffic and walk in business SportsClips will do. Honestly though, it's worth the wait for me. They do a really good job."

2
Kiarash Z. | December 26, 2007 |

"A lot of people have been waiting for this review. Brace yourselves for the tale of how a night of drinking and Bears football led to the worst cut of my life. I'm the son of a hair stylist. I grew up in a cosmetology school and spent years in salons. I can smell perm solution a mile away. I know how to perform colors, cuts and could probably to extensions if I needed to. When I left Arizona, I had my first cut from someone other than my mother. I was lucky to find Heather Anderson, who kept me beautiful for years. Upon moving to Chicago, I linked up with Allison at Strange Beauty Show. Again, fortune smiled upon me, and the streets of Chicago were a little more beautiful with my coiffure prancing along them. In my entire life, I had never visited a stylist in anything other than a high-end, fashionable salon. Then came a trip to Lion Head Pub. During the Bears vs Vikings game, a pair of women started working the crowd in racy referee outfits. Shot girls? Strippers? Referees? Nope. They were hair stylists promoting Sport Clips, a salon that prides itself on less chit-chat and more TV. They offered me a coupon for the "MVP Treatment": a haircut, steamed towel, shampoo and shoulder massage. For the sake of Yelp and against my better judgment, I vowed to visit. As a man, I'm a bit offended by the Sport CLips concept. I'm not a 5-year-old. I actually enjoy talking with my stylist and discussing hair, style, salon goings-on and our personal lives. I don't need different rooms of the salon to have cutesy names. I don't need a remote control on my seat. Sport Clips doesn't take appointments. I'm told that's because men prefer to just walk in. I don't. I like to know my stylist will be ready when I'm ready. I schedule my next cut at the end of each salon visit. I own a day planner. So I arrive and wait 15 minutes for a stylist. While waiting, I'm left to watch college basketball with a bunch of kids. The plus side is most of the stylists are cute, and they all seem pretty cool, like punk rockers who just needed salon jobs. I was assigned to Lauren, who is both cute and cool, and we discussed what I wanted done with my hair. Lauren and I got along just fine and had a lot in common, so I got comfortable. Then she sprayed a few squirts of water on my hair and got going ... with a straight razor ... on the back. I've been getting razor cuts for years, and I've never had anyone take a razor to the back of my head or start cutting without a shampoo. I decided to let her do her thing. Maybe she knew something I didn't. While giving me a cut, Lauren started talking about the different Paul Mitchell products she was using. I know what working on commission is like for a stylist. I know how much selling product helps the bank account. But I am an Bumble & Bumble addict, and I refuse to try anything else. After Lauren did some bizarre thinning and texturing with scissor up top (and didn't use the razor there), she took me into a dark room for my shampoo and steam towel. As my eyes adjusted and I settled into the shampoo bowl, I noticed a giant Fat Head looming on the wall next to me. It couldn't be. No way. Blue jersey, orange numbers, pale skin ... BRIAN URLACHER? Yes, a life-sized Brian Urlacher in a tackling pose really is going to help me relax. Mmmmmm. OK, here's the only part I enjoyed (other than meeting some nice stylists): the scalp massage and shampoo weren't the best I've had, but they were decent. The steam towel absolutely kicked nut. I felt refreshed and relaxed and cool. Lauren applied a little pressure to my face, and I was in heaven. Apparently, so was the guy sitting a few seats away. He started making slight moaning noises. Maybe he was really into Urlacher. Lauren took me into the main room, which blinded me with bright lights. That would explain why I didn't notice that my hairline was too long, my backside was too bulky and my sideburns were cut too narrow. "Ready for your massage?" She should have asked "ready to be jabbed in the back with a vibrator?" Because that's what she did. After about 30 seconds of vibration, I felt violently nauseous. In the end, I tipped $10 and gave Lauren a free pass to The Bravery. The salon isn't her fault. It's just a horrible business idea: Take everything good about a salon and reverse it. As I was waiting outside for the bus, I noticed my head was still wet, which quickly turned to ice. Thank goodness for my flask of bourbon and the CTA. Lauren, if you're reading this, I'm sorry. You're sweet, and I'm sure you do standard cuts very well. I'm just a salon snob, and I probably over-instructed you on your first cut with me."

5
Patrick W. | March 16, 2008 |

"I've been here several times for haircuts and hadn't realized I'd neglected to write a review. Unlike Kiarash- and this is not a swipe at him- I'm pretty much a no-nonsense, simple haircuts kind of guy. Right or wrong, a salon scares the b'jesus out of me. In terms of hair, it's like discussing opera with a group of aficionados- I'm just not sophisticated enough- but I'm okay with that. This place is not terribly difficult to get to, but it's not terribly easy for me, either. It's quite a bit out of my way to stop here on the way home from work, but after about 4 or 5 haircuts here, all have been consistent and good- and get the seal of approval from my princess. You have a huge-screen tv to watch and a few magazines to read while you wait- and you will wait on a weekday evening (except Friday in my experience). But that beats the usual offerings of barbershops which tend to be a selection of Time Magazines from 1989. The stylists are all really friendly and take their time. You don't feel rushed when they're in the chair, and quite honestly I've never received even the slightest overzealous sales pitch for products. I've been told what they're using and asked at the end if I wanted to purchase any, but it was never overdone by any stretch. I have purchased products here, and the prices are fairly reasonable and the stuff is good quality. The prices are reasonable, and it's hard NOT to find discounts to bring down the price further. What can I say? I'm a fan."

3
John D. | March 22, 2008 |

"Really a Supercuts with a theme, still a lower-end place to get a haircut, and the $22 price given all of that struck me as too close in price to State Street Barbers ($24). While my cut was fine, stylist was fine, I think I'll probably go back to State Street since it feels much higher end. EDIT: I since found Mario's on Southport & Fullerton using Yelp and that's a FAR better place than State Street or Sportclips."

4
Nolan F. | August 18, 2008 |

"A bunch of my friends had free MVP coupons to this place, and I was in dire need of a haircut, so I checked it out (using a free coupon). Under normal circumstances, I think the MVP option would be a bit excessive for a regular guy who needs a haircut. It includes a warm towel, a mechanized back rub and a massaging shampoo. Granted, those were all pretty cool, but I doubt I would walk in and request it. Bottom line: it is a haircut where you can watch baseball and it isn't $40."

4
Ray L. | November 19, 2008 |

"Dude the season ticket package rocks, you get 6 MVP haircuts for the price of 6 regular haircuts. They never expire so it's a great deal at $17 for a haircut that includes warm towel, this back massage thingymajjiger, massaging shampoo, the works! The staff is very friendly as well, not the fake friendly but the real friendly. They hire down to earth people. I had to subtract 1 star though because I brought in a photo of an old haircut and tried to get the same but it ended up being a generic short hair haircut which is fine. This place, like every other non-asian haircut place I go to LOVES to lop off my hair completely despite my wishes. It's OK though, if you want to cut off all my hair and leave none it just means I only need a haircut every 2-3 mths instead of every month. From a peer business perspective I don't know why these cutters don't err on the side of too-long rather than always making my hair too short. Oh well, almost a 5 star, almost a 5 star."

2
John B. | December 17, 2008 |

"Been to this location twice. The first time was okay. I was nervous because the amazing stylist that I was accustomed to had moved away and this was my first haircut from someone else in probably three years. Lauren, the SportClips stylist, did a decent job, better than my mind had come to expect. It could just be me, but the MVP treatment is fairly awkward. The shampoo and hot towel are great, but the vibrating massage tool... No, thank you. Weird. That experience itself would have been four stars. A few days ago I decided to go back, after many months, a couple head-shavings, and finally a full head of messy, messy hair. The biggest little mistake I've made in a long time. Two people were working, and they had two customers when I walked in, so I had to wait a bit. No big deal. But in the few minutes after I walked in, four other dudes walk in. So when the older lady (Sarah, I think) finally attends to me, she's in a hurry. In all seriousness, I've never had a faster or worse haircut in my twenty-six years. Even in basic training they took more time and care shaving my head completely bald. I asked for a trim, a little clean up; I like my hair messy, like my cheeseburgers and surgical procedures. She immediately gets the clippers and does irreversible damage to the side of my head. After the dust settled, literally seven minutes later, I just wanted to get out of there. When I got home, with my hair dry, and looked in the mirror, I was aghast. Sideburns (which are large) were uneven. Hair patchy. I feel massive regret for tipping even a paltry two dollars. Besides already wearing a hat every day, I'll probably end up shaving my head and starting over."

3
Eric C. | July 21, 2009 |

"Haven't been here again lately - but it looks like they are open again "under new management". I think they are offering MVP haircuts for $15 for a limited time with the reopening..."

3
Eman S. | December 30, 2009 |

"I have gotten three haircuts here now. The first two were above average, but this last one was terrible. She basically cut a bald spot into my head and now I find myself wearing a hat more often than not...thankfully its winter and it isn't weird looking. I wish I could remember her name to tell you not to use her, but I don't. Fortunately for me, I remember her face and will ask to not have her cut my hair again. Also, as an added bonus, you can take your receipt next door to Uncle Sammy's and get 50% your order."